Cinnamon Rolls

DSC_1373

DSC_1378

I felt awful yesterday. Like I was stuck in this really weird funk that prevented me from seeing much beyond the fact that my research is proving to be a little bit stickier than I thought it would be. Being the engineer that I’m trying to become, I decided to figure out what was going on. What had I been doing, or not doing, that was keeping me from my regular state?

I realized, in a moment of triumphant glory, that I had not worked with dough in ages. Sure, I made cookies and bars since coming back to school, but nothing that really required getting your hands into it. My go-to for dough? Apple pie. And now you’re like, WHAT?! That’s not an apple pie. Which is true. That is not an apple pie. Because I didn’t have seven hours to allot to making pie today since I need to go to office hours. Then I thought, I should make croissants again. Office hours last for two hours, which is perfect timing for in-between folds. But even then, that brings me dangerously close to my bedtime and I have a long day tomorrow. I perused the vast Internet for half an hour, trying to think of things to bake, but mostly coming back to french pastries (even though I knew I wouldn’t have time to make any of them).

A couple days ago, my friend from this summer, Ryan, posted a picture on Facebook of a few cinnamon rolls that Allie made. And then it struck me. I should make cinnamon rolls. I should try my hand at this cinnamony, buttery, sugary, doughy delight. (Sidenote: I still read a ton of french pastry recipes after I figured out what I would be baking today, just because I could.) So I made these cinnamon rolls today, love Paula Deen. I don’t think there’s anything quite like the wonderful feeling of dough coming together, or the awe with which I stare lovingly at the rising dough (yeast is awesome).

I didn’t let the cinnamon rolls cool enough before putting the glaze on top, but that’s because I bake for friends that are incessantly asking when the rolls will be done and when they can eat the rolls. And their definition of when the cinnamon rolls are done and when they can eat the rolls are vastly different from my own. But over the last couple years, I’ve learned that fighting it isn’t going to help anything at all.

Next time, I’ll probably only cut 12, and more evenly at that. The very center roll is a bit underbaked because of its bigger and stronger neighbors. Also, I might try softened butter for the spread rather than melted butter, as my recipe stated.

I’m looking forward to next time I bake these- a lot easier than I thought they would be.

Leave a Reply

