“Little Nuggets of Delicious Happiness” Dipped in Salted Caramel

IMG_4839

 

DSC_0102

Late post… But any way.

As far as most of my Thursdays go, I’m usually pondering why my PSets can’t seem to get finished early enough during the week and what I should bake on Friday. It’s a pretty nice combination, especially since I then proceed to procrastinate just a little bit to figure out what my palate wishes to experience in the next twenty-four hours.

I was perusing Pinterest for baked yumminess, when I happened upon this fabulous recipe for Homemade Cinnamon Sugar Pretzel Bites and Salted Caramel Dipping Sauce from the wonderful blog Kevin&Amanda. If the pictures alone don’t get your heart going, then I hope that’s because you can’t have sweets or gluten.

As of Friday, I had never made pretzels before and I had no idea the kind of time I would be spending during the actual baking process. I was actually pretty shocked at how much legwork there was, and therefore am probably not going to make pretzels again very soon, because I didn’t find it very satisfying. Opinions aside, here’s how it all turned out (with a couple of tips thrown in).

As a beginner dough-maker, I didn’t know what order to mix things, so the first round of dough was obscenely disgusting. The yeast was very sad and then I went and added a crap-ton more flour than I needed to. To forgo sad yeast, I’d mix all the wet ingredients together first, and then add the yeast, so that once you mix it in, you don’t need to touch the yeast anymore and it can just bloom in peace and quiet. That was really the only complaint about the dough.

As for the salted caramel… Well, I love making caramel, because there’s nothing quite like watching sugar yield itself to melty auburn beauty. And it just surrounds you in the most wonderful smell, which means your clothing smells delicious for hours afterward. I don’t go by measurements on the salt though, I usually just taste until it’s right to me, which hovers around 2 teaspoons for the recipe provided on Kevin&Amanda’s blog.

All my friends know that I was more in love with the salted caramel than I was with the pretzels. Mostly because I LOVE CARAMEL.

Any way. If you’re free for four or five hours, then you should definitely make these though, because my mouth was incredibly happy with the results, if my legs weren’t…

Leave a Reply

