Works in Progress… Puff Pastry and Palmiers

Lessons in Puff Pastry and Palmiers

I recently bought myself a book, an end-of-finals present if you will. It’s called The Art of French Pastry by Jacquy Pfeiffer and Martha Rose Shulman. It’s jam-packed with little knowledgable tidbits and lovely little anecdotes. As I am a growing fan of the craft of dough desserts, I decided to give the puff pastry a go.

First off, I’d like to say that Pfeiffer and Shulman’s book is good at describing what to do. And secondly, I know that these are not the classic, beautiful, delicious elephant ears we all know and love. That’s because I am completely new to this art of puff pastry. I think I’ve had too much good fortune in the baking arena thus far, and the patience and the time that it took to produce this less-than-mediocre pastry has been a wonderful and different experience.

When the recipe says “2-Day Recipe”, it means that you should definitely take 2 days, unless you want to be working on your puff pastry for 24 hours. Also, be prepared to have an emptiable refrigerator when making palmiers, because you’ll definitely need the space.

I don’t feel qualified to give suggestions, because I was unsatisfied with the result. But I do know that when rolling the dough out, be generous with the flour. So there’s that one thing I’ve learned for next time.

ALSO, be super careful when the pastry is baking. Keep track of its progress in the oven like it’s a newborn baby. Or else you end up with the sad, burnt pastries.

Till next time…

Leave a Reply

