Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

DSC_0904

I was getting ready to take a nap Friday afternoon. My eyes were starting to close when I was struck with an irresistible craving: brown butter and chocolate. Naturally, I rolled out of bed to make brown butter chocolate chip cookies. I used this recipe from the southern foods part of about.com to guide me as I made the dough mostly because all the other recipes called for things like greek yogurt that do not currently reside in my refrigerator.

Any how. I didn’t add the fleur de sel on the top of the cookies because I discovered from the first batch that the cookies were a bit on the salty side already, so the extra salt (no matter how amazing and light fleur de sel is) didn’t help. I think this is because I usually use sea salt and forgot that I usually measure the salt for cookies by pinches–that one generous pinch of sea salt does the same trick that 1 tsp of table salt.

I’m going to try a different recipe next time, because while these were good, they could definitely be better and I want to see what yogurt does for the cookie! Summer of endless possibilities, I tell you!

Also, my friend’s mom introduced me to the most magnificent-smelling vanilla extract from Trader Joe’s that has some bourbon in it, and the taste  of Brown Butter Bourbon Pecan Cookies tell me that brown butter and bourbon is a fantastic combination. So going to get new vanilla extract and add a splash of bourbon too.

One thought on “Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

