Salted Browned Butter Bourbon Chocolate Chip Cookies

DSC_0947

I may have a slight obsession with browned butter and chocolate chips. I am going on record and say that this is absolutely not a problem whatsoever!

Upon my first Google-ing quest to find a recipe to satisfy my craving last week, I came across this recipe from Ambitious Kitchen for the proclaimed best chocolate chip cookie recipe and lamented when I found that the recipe called for Greek yogurt, a commodity that is not in regular appearance in my refrigerator. But as of yesterday, I have Greek yogurt! And a small party to attend tonight.

The recipe is easy to follow, but the concerning thing that I ran into was the dough was incredibly dry after the flour was added (similar to the Brown Butter Bourbon Pecan Cookies). And since I am a sworn fan of Bourbon in baked goods, I added a few splashes (probably 3 to 3.5 tablespoons) of Bourbon to the batter. Then instead of the semisweet and milk chocolate chips, I did semisweet and white chocolate chips. Next time, I’ll definitely calm down on the amount of chocolate chips… it was a bit excessive (and I think I’m pretty tolerant of excessive amounts of chocolate in my cookies).

As with any cookie (and especially one that calls for butter in a liquefied form, be it melted or browned), it is compulsory that the dough be refrigerated. It is all about the dense and moist cookie. So that bit of the recipe should definitely be followed. Only that means that you should definitely not preheat the oven before making the dough like the instructions say, because an oven running for over two hours with nothing in it is really just a waste of precious energy–no need to preheat the house now.

I strongly suggest using fleur de sel for sprinkling because it’s a lighter (flowerier salt) than regular sea salt and doesn’t hit the senses quite as powerfully.

DSC_0957

Results? COOKIE IS DELICIOUS. A hint of the nutty browned butter, a hint of the Bourbon, a beautifully dense-but-also-fluffy texture, and a smashing ton of delicious chocolate chips. MMHMM. I mean, look at this cookie and tell me that it isn’t amazing! LOOK AT THAT COOKIE.

DSC_0957

And now I shall stop being violently demanding of you wonderful person who happened upon this blog post about this awesome cookie. You should try this recipe!

One thought on “Salted Browned Butter Bourbon Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

