Fresh Blueberry-Peach Cobbler

DSC_0985

My family recently received a gift of ten peaches, and for us to eat all of the peaches at their perfectly prime moment would just be a bad idea. The only natural response is to make a cobbler! I spent some time browsing the Internet for cobbler recipes, but I couldn’t find one that fully satisfied me. So I fell back to my trusty cookbook, Back in the Day Bakery Cookbook by Cheryl and Griffith Day. The recipe I used was for the Blackberry Cobbler for the cobbler part, and then the Rustic Peach-Blueberry Tart for the fruit part.

I don’t have a 9-in deep pie dish, but lucky for me, that’s roughly the same area as an 8-in square pan and that’s precisely what I used. My only alteration to the recipe was that I added about a tablespoon extra heavy cream to the dough because the dough was neither coming together or behaving in the described sticky manner. For the fruit, I still let it macerate in the refrigerator for about an hour.

DSC_0980

The result? The fruit to crust ratio was unfortunately too low. I definitely could have used 5 or 6 peaches rather than the 4 that I did end up using, and also reducing the crust recipe by one-half or three-quarters. In all other aspects, the dessert turned out deliciously! The fruit was perfectly sweet and the texture of the crust was springy and just slightly dry. Simply a delightful summer fruit dessert–yum!

DSC_0984

P.S. In case my opinion is not yet apparent from all the posts that I put up that reference recipes from Back in the Day Bakery Cookbook, I think it’s a fantastic investment and everyone should buy one.

Leave a Reply

