Mixed Berry Pie

DSC_0133

Williams-Sonoma was having a sale for items made in the USA during the 4th of July weekend, and it just so happened that the pastry cutters they carry are Made in America! So I bought them, and have been dying to make a lattice-top pie ever since. My family hosted a gathering, and my thoughts were that the best option was to make a mixed berry, lattice-top pie.

I couldn’t quite find a mixed berry pie to my complete liking (I only needed a recipe for the filling), so I read a bunch of them and decided to pull them together and create my own and I’ll include my recipe below at the end.

I used blackberries, blueberries, and raspberries, and my favorite old-fashioned pie crust recipe from Back in the Day Bakery Cookbook by Cheryl and Griffith Day (flakiest, butteriest, deliciousest pie crust ever). I taste-tested several of each type of berry as I washed them, and all the berries tasted a little tart. I compensated by adding more sugar to the filling recipe.

I don’t know if I like the lattice-top pie though, because I really like pie crust, and this does not offer as much coverage as the classic covered pie. However, it certainly does give the pie that special look-at-me feel.

My friend said that she thought the pie was a bit too sweet, and I can only account for that by blaming the berries for pulling a trick on me and deciding to only feed me the not-sweet ones and therefore making me decide to add more sugar. I thought that the filling was smidge sweet but I didn’t think that it covered the flavor of the berries. I’m a fan of this pie!

Recipe for Filling:

  • 5 cups of berries
  • 1/2 cup of sugar (if the berries aren’t too sweet, add more)
  • 1/4 cup of cornstarch (to thicken the berry juices)
  • 1 tbsp of fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • Zest from 1 lemon

Like any pie filling recipe, there is a lot of wiggle room to adjust it to your taste!

Leave a Reply

