Lemon Tart

DSC_01351 bungled crust, 4 egg yolks, 7 eggs, and 11 lemons later… Maybe you’re wondering how I made a lemon tart with a bungled crust when clearly this picture has a not-bungled crust. Secret? I threw out the bungled crust from the recipe I was using, and instead used leftover pie crust (we’ll talk about that result later).

I used this recipe from From the Kitchen, which appears to be a New Zealander’s blog. I don’t have a food processor, but I usually am able to achieve the same effect with my pastry knife and forks/hands. Only, I found that one yolk for 1/2 cup of powdered sugar and 1 3/4 cup of flour was not enough to make the dough come together into a ball, no matter how hard I tried. I added 2 tbsp of cold water to make the dough finally stick. I don’t think 15min to chill is enough for this dough, either, because I left it in the refrigerator for a long time (needed to buy more lemons), and the dough had not yet solidified into something exceedingly workable.

400mL of fresh squeezed lemon juice is no fun to fresh squeeze without assistance. But, in my homely home, I could not find any means other than my hands and a strainer. Also, 400mL is roughly 400g (I was very disheartened to make this discovery, because my hands were hurting only after 3.5 lemons). BUT it’s totally worth it, because the tart is super lemon-y.

When it came time to bake the tart crust, I didn’t thin the bottom of the pastry sufficiently, and only 13 min in the oven with pie weights isn’t enough, because the pastry bubbled up a lot while I was waiting for it to brown, and a lemon tart isn’t a lemon tart if there’s no lemon. So I gathered up the bungled crust, and decided to use my leftover pie crust from the most recent baking adventure.

DSC_0140

Pie crust baked like a charm, and in went the filling. Only this recipe goes more than slightly overkill on the production of the lemon filling. Because I had enough for six baby lemon tarts, and I still have enough for another 9-in tart. I haven’t quite decided what I want to do with that yet. Maybe make more mini tarts.

As promised, we shall discuss the use of pie crust instead of tart crust at moderate length. From what I understand, this tart crust is essentially the more-separated version of the pie crust that I made. This translates to this particular tart that I just made having a very hard crust that is a significant degree more stubborn than the tart crust. It doesn’t chew in a way that is conducive to complete masticating consistency with the lemon filling. I suggest, if you really want to do pie crust with a tart, do a shortcut pie crust rather than. I, for one, won’t be doing that again.

The filling was DELICIOUS. Unless you don’t like the taste of lemon consuming your entire mouth (don’t understand why you wouldn’t, but that’s your preference and I respect that). All that lemon juice and all those eggs meant a firm and lemony custard that perfectly cushions your jaw as your teeth sink through.

I am a very big fan of this lemon filling recipe. For the future, though, I think I’m going to try a new tart crust recipe and remember to make it as thin as I possibly can before I bake it.

Leave a Reply

